English poetry · love

Hatred

I knew the truth would spill out

But never could guess they way it’d sprout

You couldn’t forget him

And I will never forgive him

For your innocence gave way

For him to misuse the trust and slay

The bond of friendship that I lay

With him and of love with you

You still feel the pain of separation

From him when he left you

But can’t see my agony or exasperation

When he took you away from me

And you left me amidst a blasphemy

And now I wish if we could be normal

Once again and remove this awkwardness

That exists now. But all in vain.

Love never fades how old it may get

Yours for him and mine for you

And still I beat life into a limp relation

Which died the day you galloped away.

Leave a Reply

